DSC 0039 xScorers: Stranraer - Gibson (Pen 26) and Proctor (OG 89); East Kilbride - Winter (14)

STRANRAER survived an almighty scare to book a Scottish Cup fourth round tie with Aberdeen.

In a tie which was played at a frantic pace, it was not until the 89th minute that the hosts took the lead for the first time.

Brian Reid's men had looked on top in the early goings before a poor clearance from Cameron Belford was seized on by East Kilbride.

Adam Strachan rolled the ball through to former Stranraer man Sean Winter and he made no mistake in putting his hometown team in front.

However, the visitors lead lasted little more than ten minutes.

Winter went from hero to villain when he brought down Kyle Turner and Willie Gibson kept his cool from 12 yards.
Winter was not the only ex-Stranraer man in the East Kilbride team, and it took a fantastic goal-saving tackle from Barry Russell to deny Craig Malcolm three minutes before the break.

Both sides kept up the pressure after the break and East Kilbride should be commended for their positive attitude as the game wore on.

It looked increasingly likely that the two teams would do it all again at K Park but there would be late drama.

Gibson's corner was met by club captain Steven Bell and David Proctor was the unlucky man who nodded it beyond Jacob Kean and into his own goal with barely a minute left on the clock.

It was far from a vintage or dazzling performance from the hosts and East Kilbride will rightly take a lot of the plaudits for their impressive showing.
DSC 0036 x
However, it is the Blues who march on to face the Dons in the New Year.

Stranraer: Belford, Robertson, Dick, Barron, Bell, Turner, McGuigan (Agnew 38), Thomson, Gibson, Malcolm (Morena 90+1), Nuttall.
Not used: Watt, Sherrie, Maley and Currie.

East Kilbride: Kean, Capuano (McLaren 90), Russell, Proctor, Howie, Hughes, Winter, Marenghi (McBride 75), Coll (Smith 62), Strachan, Victoria.
Not used: Smith, McNeil, McLaren, Hardie, Stevenson, McBride and McGinlay.

Referee: Steven Kirkland
Attendance: 331
HT: 1-1


SPFL 3L1 6474

1 Airdrieonians 0 0
2 Arbroath 0 0
3 Brechin City 0 0
4 Dumbarton 0 0
5 East Fife 0 0
6 Forfar Athletic 0 0
7 Montrose 0 0
8 Raith Rovers 0
9 Stenhousemuir 0 0
10 Stranraer 0 0



Grant Anderson, Kyle Turner, Jamie Hamill, Chris McGowan, Andrew McDonald (St Mirren), Max Currie, Lyle Avci (Ayr United), Cameron Elliott, Sam Lidington, Mark Lamont (East Fife), David Brownlie (Airdrieonians), David Smith (Dumbarton).

OUT: Angus Beith (end of loan), Dylan Dykes (end of loan), Dean Hawkshaw (end of loan), Ross Lyon (end of loan), Cameron MacPherson (end of loan), David Barron, Stephen Okoh, Scott Robertson (Airdrieonians), Ryan Thomson, Morgyn Neill (Stenhousemuir), Scott Agnew (East Fife), Gavin Scott (scholarship, USA).

View squad