DSC 0914Scorers: Cadden (52), Johnson (84) and McDonald (87)

THREE unanswered second half goals saw Motherwell end Stranraer's hopes of making it out of the group phase of the Betfred Cup.

The Blues, who had picked up maximum points against Annan Athletic and East Stirlingshire, went down to a Premiership side for the second time in less than a week with the Steelmen advancing alongside Rangers from Group F.

Stranraer made two changes with Kyle Turner and Craig Malcolm coming in for Ross Barbour and Christian Nade.

And they managed to keep the visitors at bay during the first half, with Cameron Belford only called into action on a handful of occasions.

At the other end, Mark McGuigan and Scott Agnew both had efforts wide of the uprights.

However, Motherwell turned their possession into a goal just seven minutes after the restart when Christopher Cadden's low drive proved too hot for Belford to handle.

The hosts' chances of getting back into the game were killed off late on when Cadden capitalised on a defensive error to turn provider for Marvin Johnson.
He then turned creator for Scott McDonald, who nodded home with less than five minutes left on the clock.

Stranraer: Belford, Robertson, Dick, McKeown, Bell, Agnew, Turner (Nade 65), Thomson, Gibson, Malcolm (Morena 78), McGuigan (Kemp 65).
Not used: Osadolor, McCloskey, Barbour and Currie.

Motherwell: Samson, Tait, Hammell, Heneghan, McManus, Ainsworth (Chalmers 59), Clay, Johnson, Cadden (MacLean 87), Lasley, McDonald (Mackin 88).
Not used: Thomas, McHugh, Laing and Brill.

Referee: Don Robertson
HT: 0-0
Attendance: 953

SPFL 3L1 6474

 Pos  Team  Pld   Pts 
1 Raith Rovers 26 57
2 Ayr United 25 51
3 Alloa Athletic 24 39
4 Arbroath 23 38
6 Airdrieonians 25 32
7 East Fife 26 30
8 Forfar Athletic 26
9 Albion Rovers 24 23
10 Queen's Park 26 21

Updated 17/2/18 at 5pm


00 Stranraer FC 2015 Logo
3 Number Lotto
Sunday 10 December 2017

Numbers: 1, 14, 20
1 winner at £2000:

Congratulations to:
Iain, Kilmirren Avenue, Stranraer