00 Stranraer FC Facebook  Midannandalefc

Stranraer U20s 4-2 Mid Annandale

Following a tough start to their SPFL Development League West campaign, Stranraer U20s faced Mid Annandale in the first round of the Youth Cup with only the bare eleven available, due to injury and holiday commitments.

However, the youngsters started brightly, and after six minutes top scorer Jai Holland dispossessed the Mids centre back to run through, rounding the keeper to open the scoring.

Ten minutes later, Holland was involved again, winning a penalty after a foul in the box. Kieran McLaughlin stepped up to send the keeper the wrong way to increase the lead.

Centre back Zack Simpson was on the end of a heavy challenge which severely hampered his movement, and a reshuffle resulted in him playing the game out on the right flank. Nonetheless, a third was added after 27 minutes.

Good play by Farrell and McKinley allowed Mclaughlin to cut inside from the left wing to finish confidently.

On 44 minutes, the Mids cut the deficit to two going into the break, after converting from the spot.

The second half would start as the first finished, with the young Blues taking the game to their opponents. McLaughlin completed his hat trick after capitalising on indecision in the Mid’s defence to make it 4-1.

However, Stuart Wild's side were dealt a blow when the referee dismissed John Mitchell for contesting a series of fouls on Holland.

With an immobile Simpson valiantly staying on the field, the Blues had to withstand Mids pressure and lost a second on 80 minutes.

But, the nine fit players managed the game out to complete a successful passage to round two, where a home tie with Selkirk awaits.

Stranraer U20s: McLaren, Caldwell, Gray, Simpson, Mitchell, Farrell, McLaughlin, McKinlay, Holland, McGowan, Scott.

View U20 and South of Scotland fixtures

SPFL 3L1 6474

Team Pld
1 Raith Rovers 29 58
2 Ayr United 27 57
3 Arbroath 27 45
4 Alloa Athletic 28 45
5 East Fife 29 39
7 Airdrieonians 28 35
8 Forfar Athletic 29
9 Albion Rovers 27 27
10 Queen's Park 29 23

Updated 13/3/18 at 10pm


00 Stranraer FC 2015 Logo
3 Number Lotto
Sunday 10 December 2017

Numbers: 1, 14, 20
1 winner at £2000:

Congratulations to:
Iain, Kilmirren Avenue, Stranraer